Gen Why Not

It’s all about us

Addicted at the Wheel with Nintendo Thumbs to Prove it December 28, 2007

textdrive2.png

Yes, I do have a downfall, a few more but I’ll save those for later, it’s the “texting while driving” syndrome. You do it too, I know it.

You don’t need to carry on a whole conversation with someone, hi how are you, how was your weekend — The only information I want out of you is who your hair dresser is or where the nearest borders is…The problem with that is–is the fact I think of those things while driving.

I don’t think people understand that people literally will not pick up the phone for a conversation, but will immediately answer a text. Case and point one: yesterday I was supposed to drive up to Northern Phoenix (the I-17 & Carefree highway to those Phoenicians who read) and I called her to tell her I would be late because I was sitting in traffic — well she didn’t answer. Instead of leaving a message I said ok I will get my text on. I let her know via text, and she immediately answered me.

How do I communicate with people without text. Driving is contact time for me. Texting and calling. There are a fee problems with texting and driving. 1. It’s dangerous and can call an accident and 2. It just recently became illegal to do it in Phoenix. ie: http://www.azcentral.com/arizonarepublic/arizonaliving/articles/1025texting1025.html

I am just at a loss for words. So apparently we are the first city to do this. I wonder if others have followed. I have tried to cut down a bit, but it’s hard. The repercussions for some reason aren’t the influence of my slowing down. I think it’s my in my old age that’s gettin’ just too hard to do two things at once. No just kidding. I am realizing I am picking up wisdom and how dangerous it is. I think others should back down on the incessant addiction. Either your finger printers will wear down or you could be looking at a fender bender.

-Celeste

 

One Response to “Addicted at the Wheel with Nintendo Thumbs to Prove it”

  1. durtbagz Says:

    that’s not a bad street sign…


Leave a Reply

